Admin
Friday, January 31, 2018 

Dear Parents and Guardians of Broadview Public School,


I could not have been more pleased to see the snow falling this afternoon, bringing much needed traction to an icy outdoor terrain! January has certainly been a mixed bag of weather. We’re hoping for -10 with no wind and lots of sun every day from now until the end of the month!


Broadview students enjoyed a super busy month of learning, fun, and celebration. Yesterday our intermediate Lego Robotics team took gold at the Skills Ontario Preliminary competition. This team would not be possible with dedicated parent volunteers and Ms. Harrison. A special thank you to our School Council who has purchased robots for our school for the past several years. Our team will be competing in the Provincial competition in Toronto this May - we wish them all the best!


Several of our intermediate students visited Parliament Hill on Tuesday, January 16 to help celebrate the announcement of Canada’s Olympic Flag Bearers. It was a great day to be Canadian and shake the Prime Minister’s hand!


We also hosted several new families for our kindergarten information night and practised a lockdown. It’s been a busy and exciting month!!


Coyote in the Neighbourhood!

We had a little excitement yesterday morning with reports of a coyote visiting Westboro. A student asked me why there would be a coyote here in the city and I suggested that perhaps he was chasing the Road Runner. The blank stare he gave me made me sad!


To be safe, we brought students into the school as they arrived, calling a Shelter in Place. We use this procedure to protect against potential threats outside of the building, such as visiting wild animals or severe weather. Once the students were indoors, we returned to normal operations but ensured that students moving between portables and the school were with an adult at all times during the transition. With no further reports or sightings we fully resumed normal activities by 1st break.  


Online Silent Auction

Check it out! Bidding closes on February 14th.
www.32auctions.com/BroadviewAvenuePS  
We are very fortunate to have such a wonderful school and this fundraising will help to make it even better!


Ottawa Public Health (OPH) Immunization Surveillance

All children attending school between ages 4 to 17 need to be immunized according to Ontario's Immunization Schedule. Learn more here. Parents or guardians of these students would have received written notice from OPH in the mail on November 22, 2017 for elementary students. Suspension orders are scheduled to be mailed on January 22, 2018 and scheduled to be enforced on February 14, 2018. More information can be found here or you may contact Ottawa Public Health at 613-580-6744.


Mr. Paré Away

I will be taking a course this month that will be taking me away from the school for a few days. While I am away Mr. Bickerton will be the Acting Principal working with Vice-Principal MacFarlane. Mr. Bickerton is a retired principal with many years of experience.


Parking Lot

We continue to have students dropped off in the small parking lot at the southwest corner of the school. This lot is not to be used by the community for parking or drop off at any time of the day.


Volunteers Needed
The School Council is always looking for volunteers on a regular basis to help out with various school and after school activities.  More information, including the sign-up form, is available at the following link: https://ocdsb-broadviewps.ss13.sharpschool.com/cms/one.aspx?portalId=216721&pageId=3242054


Student Transfer Application Period

Please access the Student Transfer Parent Guide for more information about applying for a cross boundary transfer for your child.


Report Cards and IEPs

Our staff are very busy preparing report cards. Reports for all students will be sent home on Wednesday, February 14. Updates to IEPs go home on Wednesday, February 28.


Dental Screening

Lucy Charbonneau, registered dental hygienist with Ottawa Public Health, will provide a dental screening using a tongue depressor on March 1 and 2, 2018 (dates are subject to change), for grades JK. SK, 2 and other children as necessary. If your child’s grade is not selected, but you wish for the dental hygienist to see him/her, please advise the school. Only children identified as having dental needs will bring home a form. Follow-up school visits by the dental hygienist for individual children may be done. THIS DOES NOT REPLACE REGULAR VISITS WITH YOUR FAMILY DENTIST.


This dental screening is offered in accordance with the Ontario Public Health Standards from ONtario Ministry of Health and Long Term Care. Personal Health Information is collected in compliance with the Municipal Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act and the Personal Health Information Protection Act and will be used for the purpose of dental assessment, treatment and oral hygiene instruction, and for statistical purposes. Questions concerning the collection and use of this information should be directed to the Supervisor of Dental Health Promotion, Ottawa Public Health, 400-1580 Merivale Rd., Ottawa, ON, tel.: 613-580-2424 ext. 26376.


OCDSB Speaker Series - Winter 2018

Understanding Mental Health and Addiction in Youth – Coping and Resilience
March 1, 2018 - 7:00 – 9:00 p.m.
Sir Robert Borden High School – 131 Greenbank Road

Speakers:
Mary Alexandrou - Program Coordinator for the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario’s (CHEO) youth mental health program called YouthNet.
Natalie Markoff – Director of Communication & Partnerships for PLEO – Parents’ Lifelines of Eastern Ontario.

Equity in Action
April 5, 2018 - 7:00 – 9:00 p.m.
Woodroffe High School – 2410 Georgina Drive
Speaker: Chris D’souza – Motivational Speaker and Human Rights Strategist

Enjoy these free information sessions - sponsored by the District's Parent Involvement Committee (PIC) and supported through grant funding from the Ministry of Education.


Regards,


Dennis Paré

Principal - Broadview Public School

dennis.pare@ocdsb.ca


Upcoming Events - these events can be found on the school calendar. Consider adding our school’s Google calendar to your own as it will be the most up to date source of information about Broadview events:

https://calendar.google.com/calendar/ical/ocdsb.ca_9dndt1k5m7h5gdt1o3af85ltbs%40group.calendar.google.com/public/basic.ics


Thursday, February 1 - Wednesday, February 14: Online Silent Auction

Monday, February 5 - Tuesday, February 20: Student Transfer Period
Tuesday, February 13: Friday Schedule, School Council
Wednesday, February 14: Report Cards go home, Red, Pink and White Day, Happy Valentine's Day!

Thursday, February 15: Dance-a-thon (daytime activity), Intermediate Valentine’s Day Dance (6:30 - 8:30 pm)
Friday, February 16: PA Day - No classes for students
Monday, February 19: Family Day (school is closed)
Tuesday, February 20: Junior Triple Ball Tournament
Wednesday, February 21 - Wednesday, February 22: Capital Region Music Fest (School Band)

Tuesday, February 27: Tooney Tuesday (Education Foundation Fundraiser)

Wednesday, February 28: IEPs Updates go home
Wednesday, February 28 - Thursday, March 1: Intermediate Science Fair
Thursday, March 1: Dental Screening, Understanding Mental Health and Addiction in Youth - Coping and Resilience (SRB - 7:00 - 9:00 pm)
Tuesday, March 6: School Council
Friday, March 9: Broadview Colours Day
Monday, March 12 - Friday, March 16: March Break - No classes for students
Thursday, March 29: Friday Schedule, Jersey Day
Friday, March 30 - Monday, April 2: Easter Weekend - No classes for students

Wednesday, April 4: Monday Schedule

Thursday, April 5: Equity in Action (Woodroffe High School, 7:00 - 9:00 pm)

Tuesday, April 10: School Council

Thursday, April 26: Plaid, Stripes and Polka Dots Day
Friday, April 27: PA Day - No classes for students
Monday, May 7 - Friday, May 11: Education Week
Tuesday, May 8: School Council

Sunday, May 13: Happy Mother’s Day!
Monday, May 21: Victoria Day (school is closed)
Tuesday, May 22 - Monday, June 4: EQAO (students in grades 3 and 6)
Tuesday, May 22 - Friday, May 25: Grade 8 Band Trip to Québec City
Tuesday, June 5: Friday Schedule
Thursday, June 7: Crazy Hair Day
Friday, June 8: PA Day - Report Card Writing Day
Tuesday, June 12: School Council
Sunday, June 17: Happy Father's Day!
Monday, June 18: MacSkimming (C. McCay)
Tuesday, June 26: Report Cards Go Home
Wednesday, June 27: Grade 8 School Leaving Ceremony
Thursday, June 28: Last Day of School
Friday, June 29: PA Day - No classes for students
Posted by dennis.pare@ocdsb.ca On 31 January, 2018 at 7:32 PM  

 
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.